Energy Capital Cooperative Child Care operates under the cooperative business model, where the members it serves call the shots. 

The initial board of directors consists of principals from the founding partners. As the entity transitions from start-up into operations, the board members will be replaced with parents whose children attend the child care center, as well as representatives from the founding partners and community supporters.

The board will supervise the director and set the strategic direction and educational offerings of the center.

President  Erin Huntimer, Basin Electric

Vice President  Christie Obenauer, Union State Bank

Secretary  Ken Miller, Hazen Public Schools

Treasurer  Darrold Bertsch, Sakakawea Medical Center


Kayla Olson, Coal Country Community Health Centers

Dale Johnson, Dakota Gasification

Brad Zimmerman, Coyote Station

Keith Gendreau, Knife River Care Center

Kent Neustel, North American Coal Corp.